

Legislation Text

File #: R-229-23, Version: 1

Councilman Hobbs

Designating Sunday, May 14 - Saturday, May 20, 2023 as National Police Week in Toledo.

WHEREAS, the City of Toledo designates May 15, as Peace Officers Memorial Day and the week in which that date falls as Police Week, as signed into proclamation in 1962, by President John F. Kennedy; and

WHEREAS, National Police Week offers honor, remembrance, and peer support, while allowing law enforcement, survivors, and citizens to gather and pay homage to those who gave their lives in the line of duty; and

WHEREAS, there are more than 800,000 sworn law enforcement officers serving in the United States, the highest figure ever; and

WHEREAS, since the first recorded police death in 1786, there have been more than 23,000 law enforcement officers killed in the line of duty; currently, there are 23,785 names engraved on the walls of the National Law Enforcement Officers Memorial; and

WHEREAS, a total of thirty-two men who honorably served the City of Toledo, did not return home to their family and friends at the end of their shift; instead, they gave the ultimate sacrifice; and

WHEREAS, since 2007, Toledo has suffered the losses of four on-duty officers:

Detective Keith Dressel, E.O.W., February 21, 2007;

Officer Anthony Dia, E.O.W., July 4, 2020;

Patrolman Brandon Stalker, E.O.W., January 18, 2021;

Canine Officer Falko Okal, E.O.W., August 12, 2015; and

WHEREAS, this May 15, we will honor these three men and Canine Falko, as well as the twenty-nine officers who will be forever remembered and honored as fallen heroes; NOW, THEREFORE,

Be it resolved by the Council of the City of Toledo:

SECTION 1. That we remember the officers of the City of Toledo and across the United States that have given the ultimate sacrifice to defend us.

SECTION 2. That this Resolution shall take effect and be in force from and after the earliest period allowed by law.

File #: R-229-23, Version: 1

Adopted: May 2, 2023, as an emergency measure: yeas 11, nays 0.

Attest: Gerald E. Dendinger Clerk of Council

Matt Cherry President of Council

Approved:

May 2, 2023 Wade Kapszukiewicz Mayor